Ge’us a copy of that will yer? 9/1/2007

It was announced yesterday that the law against copying CD’s onto your computer or MP3 Player is going to be reviewed with the potential to be changed or even abolished depending on results.
 
What’s that I hear you say? It’s illegal for me to rip a CD onto my hard drive and then put it onto my generic MP3 player afterwards? Indeed it is, you usually law abiding ladies and gentlemen, but don’t go handing yourself in at the police station just yet; no one actually cares.
 
That is of course not including the fine people at AIM who believe this move could be the fulcrum for “uncontrolled and unstoppable” copying and file sharing of music. The CEO of AIM, Alison Wenham believes that it could set a dangerous precedent for the future. Whereas over at the BPI, Geoff Taylor has realised this is barely news worthy at best and has told everyone who is stupid enough to listen that it will do “no harm” to the industry.
 
As you’ve probably guessed; I’m with Geoff on this one. This ‘current’ law has become so out of date and backward that it’s almost like one of those comedy laws that you hear on Radio 4 panel shows that go something like “In Crewe it’s legal to replace electrical fuses with chocolate raisons on the 3rd Sabbath of every month… whilst topless”.
The law obviously needs changing as it was originally put in place when these new and exciting inventions called ‘VHS’ and ‘Cassette Tapes’ came out back in the late 16th century (not too sure about the actual date).
 
As my co-worker summarised quite perfectly; it’s simply “closing the stable door after the horse has bolted”.
 
Regular readers of the blog will know I’m tolerable of piracy on a personal level. What I mean by this is, friends giving each other copies of CD’s to help one another discover more music. Not personal piracy as in Clive, the bloke from your local, downloading The Eagles new album for your dad as he’s smart enough to use Kazaa and then selling it to him for £5 and a pint of stout.
I wouldn’t have discovered half my favourite bands without people giving me their CD’s to have a listen too first or without them emailing me over a cheeky single to have a gander at. Myspace has obviously changed this climate somewhat as you could argue that, rather than ‘stealing’ a copy of their music you could go listen to their myspace page and decide from there if you want to bite the bullet and part with your hard earned cash. Although this is true, I personally prefer CD’s as therefore I can put them onto my MP3 player at a high quality bitrate and listen to them in bed, but that’s just one of my many foibles.
 
But when did I get this idiosyncrasy? Why do I care about bitrates so much? I’m continually informed that the human ear can’t recognize audio quality over 128kb per second so why do I insist on ripping them at 320kb? And why are the headphones that come with any MP3 player I buy not good enough? And therefore I have to go out and spend £40 on some massive ones that make scousers look at me in a bemused fashion as I ponder down the street?
 
I remember about 5 or 6 years ago when I received a Mini Disc walkman for Christmas and I thought it was the most unbelievable thing ever. It’s re-recordable – like a tape – but with CD quality!!! How can you get better then this?!
 
Whereas now I have my entire music collection in my pocket in something that is smaller than the mini disc player in question. Where ever I am I can think ‘oh, what do I fancy right at this very moment?’ and I can choose any of the eight thousand or so songs at my disposal. And on top of that I can think, ‘actually, sod that. I’m bored of music, lets watch and episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm instead’ as the thing plays video files as well!
 
Now this isn’t new technology what-so-ever, but think how much its progressed in 5 years. What the hell will I be getting for my 30th birthday present?! I’m already hooked on the internet as it is…
 
Just a quick DRM note from last week: Napster have now also stated they’re going to remove DRM from their tracks in the second quarter of this year. Good stuff…
 
What I’m listening to this week: Ida Maria and goFASTER
 
What I’m reading this week: The Five8
 
Stay tuned
 
sP

~ by Sentric on January 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “Ge’us a copy of that will yer? 9/1/2007”

  1. I’ve heard good things about Ida Maria, but the sP stamp of approval was the kick up the arse I needed to actually go and listen to her. First thoughts are: “it’s nice, but….”.

    30th birthday presents…I reckon a portable device with wireless access to a Napster (or equivalent) subcription. Any music ever, on demand, flat fee, while on the bus. Oooh yeah.

  2. Who are these morons in charge of major companies who are about as clued up as Bez on ‘shrooms? “We’re gonna abolish a law that we’ve got no fucking idea how to enforce anyway”. Congratulations. No doubt an MBE awaits for “services to fuck all”.

    I have nothing constructive to add, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

 
