Cool? He’s practically freezing 16/07/07

Alreight all, Hope all is well?This weeks blog is regarding the enigma that is ‘Coolness’. Can it be defined? Is there one person that everyone in the world finds universally cool? Is cool, as with beauty, in the eye of the beholder?

Lets start off with a definition eh? The Oxford English dictionary says:

Cool

  • adjective 1 of or at a fairly low temperature. 2 keeping one from becoming too hot. 3 unfriendly or unenthusiastic. 4 free from anxiety or excitement: he kept a cool head. 5 (of jazz) restrained and relaxed. 6 informal fashionably attractive or impressive. 7 informal excellent. 8 (a cool ) informal used to emphasize a specified large amount of money: a cool £50 million

Lets keep that in mind and read on…

As regular readers will know a couple of weeks ago I went to see the classic cock rockers Aerosmith down in the big smoke. Firstly they didn’t play for nowhere near long enough (only 1 hour 20 min, this is partially excused by the fact that it was a festival and not an Aerosmith concert per se) and secondly, they weren’t the tightest band musically. When they played ‘the hits’ the sound was sometimes a bit lacklustre and a bit thin, but when they played rhythm and blues and country they sounded brilliant. They released the Honkin On A Bobo album a few years back (an album full of classic R&B) but if I’m honest I never really listened it, but now after watching them live I can really appreciate that they’re a much better blues band then they are a rock band.

Regardless of these 2 facts, the gig was ace. I thoroughly enjoyed all 80 minutes and sang my little heart out along the way. This was partially down to the fact I’ve wanted to see them since I was a child, partially down to the fact I was crunked up on whisky that I sneaked in in my hip flask, but mainly down to Steven Tyler and Joe Perry. Those lads are damn cool. Simple as that. The rest of the band, especially the bass player, look like they’ve taken a wrong turn on their way to the hospice and they’ve ended up on stage in front of 80,000 people (similar to when I saw the Stones and every so often Keith Richards would look down and would be both genuinely bemused and surprised to discover he was holding a guitar).

So I’ve been discussing ‘cool people’ with friends and family recently to see who they think are cool, my personal list:

Steven Tyler – Massive mouth, amazing voice, pulls awesome shapes and has DIED ONSTAGE. Can’t get much cooler then that can you?

Keith Richards – I believe Keith Richards invented the term ‘coffin dodger’. The guy just won’t die. Drugs? Childsplay. Booze? That’s for beginners. Falling out of trees and softening your landing using your head? Just an average day in the office. Just look at the guys face it looks like a waxwork!

Josh Homme – Homme is just a proper rock star. A classic couldn’t-give-a-damn attitude during interviews yet at the same time giving witty and interesting answers. He pens some classic rock riffs and let’ not forget, he manages to be this cool whilst being ginger at the same time! That only amplifies his coolness in my opinion.

Noel Gallagher – Now I’m not really an Oasis fan, they’ve done some crackin songs and I completely appreciate their influence but during the brit pop era I was into my early Greenday and other, more heavier music. Due to this I was never a fan of Liam Gallagher, yeah yeah, he’s the ‘stereotypical’ rock star and there is both a need and a place for that, but Noel’s the one who makes Oasis, not Liam. Noel’s cocky, but not brash. He’s much smarter then he lets on and, perhaps most importantly, he’s one of the finest songwriters this country’s ever produced. His interview on the brilliant BBC documentary ‘The Seven Ages Of Rock’ was one of the highlights of the series for me, further confirming his coolness.

Other suggestions I’ve had are James Dean, Jimi Hendrix, Christopher Walken, Justin Timberlake, Jamie Hewlett, Beck, Matt Bellamy, Amy Winehouse and of course, the Fonz.

For me, a couple of them aren’t cool. As much as I adore Muse, Matt Bellamy is a full blown nerd, and as talented as I believe Amy Winehouse is, she’s just too much of a piss head. If you’re cool you should be able to drink a bottle of Jack Daniels, be completely hammered, but be so blasé that no one realises you’re blotto.

So I do reckon that coolness is in the eye of the beholder.

What do you lot reckon then? Who’s cool? Do you agree with my choices?

What I’m listening to this week: The Alphites Debut single out today in all major download stores and The Hold Steady, saw them live last week and there were superb.

What I’m reading this week: The in no way nerdy blog of Johnathon Deamer.

This weeks free track: CLIPE SEXO AMADOR’s classic ‘I Play Keyboard’

http://ffinder.creativecultures.biz/mp3/I_Play_Keyboard.mp3

Stay Tuned

sP

~ by Sentric on July 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “Cool? He’s practically freezing 16/07/07”

  1. This isn’t really going to help the “in-no-way-nerdy” reputation I’m building up, but doesn’t anyone else think Moby is cool as fuck?😉

  2. […] I always look forward to its weekly cheeky wink at the music industry, and today’s post about the enigma of coolness shows why.  Although I must say, the suggested “cool icons” of Keith Richards, Noel […]

  3. Moby is an arse. That’s for definite.

    It would be a contentious choice, but I’d plump for Chris Martin. Yes, Coldplay may be for bedwetters etc etc but I was at the Isle of Wight Festival last year and he had the whole crowd captivated. He was funny, sincere and endearing. Maybe that’s not what “cool” is generally deemed to be, but maybe that’s the point.

    Although, I should add that Dickhead Ashcroft had been onstage prior to Coldplay and made a complete arse of himself so not a “controlled experiment” by any means.

  4. […] eh? What I’ve been reading this week: Ian Britts blog and you remember my post about being cool? I suggested Josh Homme is one of the coolest people in the industry and I received many […]

Leave a Reply

 
